top of page

Intro to Self-Defense Workshop Series

8-Week Intro to Self-Defense 
Workshop Series

Saturdays, 10-11am PST

5E814B0E-2854-496C-BDB7-71D6FF854BDE.PNG

Tuff Love Self-Defense and Compassion In Oakland are proud to partner up to offer scholarships to our In-Person Self-Defense Workshop Series at Four Elements Fitness gym.

Learning what our minds, voices, and bodies can do, realizing that we are worth defending, and giving ourselves permission to stay safe is a powerfully transformative experience.

Learn how to protect yourself in a safe, supportive and empowered environment! Tuff Love Self-Defense’s 8-WEEK IN-PERSON SELF-DEFENSE WORKSHOP SERIES teaches awareness and safety strategies to avoid assaults before they happen. You’ll also learn effective physical techniques addressing the most common attack situations: being pushed or pulled, punched, cornered, grabbed by the wrist and hair, or pinned to the ground. Rather than relying on strength, you will learn principles of leverage, timing, and energy efficiency to defend against a stronger assailant. Regardless of your age, size, strength, or physical ability, you can learn the techniques of self-defense while gaining an increased sense of personal confidence and empowerment.

Classes are designed to teach a specific self-defense technique with skills-building over the 8 weeks. Class includes warm-up exercises, discussion of safety principles, and instruction in a specific self-defense technique practiced with a partner. Class ends with drills to build confidence and strengthen reflexes. No experience is necessary. Participants must be fully vaccinated and wear masks during class.

WORKSHOP SERIES, 16TH EDITION DATES:

  • Saturday, August 24, 2024

  • Saturday, August 31, 2024

  • Saturday, September 7, 2024

  • Saturday, September 14, 2024

  • Saturday, September 21, 2024

  • Saturday, September 28, 2024

  • Saturday, October 5, 2024

  • Saturday, October 12, 2024

 

*Dates subject to change. To register for the 16th edition, click HERE

UPCOMING WORKSHOP SERIES, 15TH EDITION DATES:

  • Saturday, My 25, 2024

  • Saturday, June 1, 2024

  • Saturday, June 8, 2024 NO CLASS

  • Saturday, June 15, 2024 

  • Saturday, June 22, 2024

  • Saturday, June 29, 2024

  • Saturday, July 6, 2024

  • Saturday, July 13, 2024 NO CLASS

  • Saturday, July 20, 2024 NO CLASS

  • Saturday, July 27, 2024

  • Saturday, August 3, 2024 

 

*To register for the 15th edition, click HERE

WORKSHOP LOCATION:

Four Elements Fitness Gym

322 Frank H Ogawa Plaza

Oakland, CA 94612

fourelementsfitness.com

COST: FREE/Donation 

WHO: All gender 10+ are welcome.

WHAT TO WEAR: Comfortable yoga clothing. 

NOTES:

  • Arrive 10 minutes early on the first day of class to check in. 

  • All participants MUST sign a waiver
     

  • We encourage you to attend all classes to get the best out of the series. In order to participate in the workshop series, we required all students to commit to at least 5 out of the 8 classes.

 

  • Wearing a face mask during class is optional.

  • Before starting any exercise program, it is recommended that you consult your physician. You agree that you are voluntarily participating in this on-line training entirely at your own risk and assume all risks of injury, illness, or death. You agree to hold the creators of this on-line training program and all instructors harmless. When you register for the class you are assuming the risks associated with any and all activities and/or exercises in which you are participating. 

bottom of page